Five Stages of Grief

“Remember, grieving is a personal process that has no time limit, nor one ‘right’ way to do it.”

Bridgewater, N.J, (August 16, 2013) – Did you know the United States’ 16th President, Abraham Lincoln first fell into a deep depression after Ann Rutledge, his first love died? Lincoln reportedly suffered from chronic depression his entire life.

Death is an unfortunate factor of life that we all must face at some point. When we are dealing with a death of a loved one we go through five stages of grief: denial & isolation, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

  1. Denial & isolation: We tend to hide from the facts and distance ourselves from the rest of the world. This is a temporary process that helps us get through the first couple of moments of pain.

  2. Anger: This process occurs when the bad news begins to sink in. The news makes us angry with those who are involved.

  3. Bargaining: When we sit back and reflect on what we “should” have done is a sign of bargaining. For example, “If only we had sought medical attention sooner…”

  4. Depression: This stage is the longest lasting of all. It is when our entire emotions sink in and we come withdrawn and filled with sadness.

  5. Acceptance: When we accept the process of death.

GenPsych PC, provider of top quality outpatient psychiatric and substance abuse services, stresses the importance of a healthy lifestyle. GenPsych offers a Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) Program which is a structured therapeutic treatment that emphasizes balance between acceptance and change. DBT helps reduce impulsive behaviors, such as suicidality, self-harm, substance abuse, eating disordered behavior, aggression, isolation, rumination, dissociation, anxiety, depression and panic attacks.

For more information on GenPsych’s revolutionary Dialectical Behavior Therapy programs, visit:

For more information on the five stages of grief, visit:


Recent Posts

See All